Killer Whale Ecotypes

Scientists currently recognize at least ten killer whale ecotypes throughout the world's oceans. These ecotypes have overlapping geographic ranges in certain areas but have slight genetic differences and distinct differences in size, habitat, color pattern, dorsal fin shape, vocalizations, diet, and hunting strategies.

Killer Whales
Northern Hemisphere
Northern Hemisphere Killer Whales
Southern Hemisphere
Southern Hemisphere Killer Whales
Back to Top